Let me enlighten thee of spring


Altered-Flower-Garden

 

I cry to your hearts,

you poetic prophets

Hear me sing of morning rain

Let me dwell on dew of roses

Let me enlighten thee of spring

 

It has blossomed in the morning

Bluebonnets strewn across the yard

Yellow Black-eyed Susan’s sing

Their Morning Glories home.

 

The little plants that have been watered

peek their heads above the soil

To take a look at the sunshine

That e’er encourages them to grow.

 

The tomato plants are almost ready

To be buried in the ground

Where they can grow unhurried

With sweet ripe fruits abound

 

So let me sing to you of sunshine

The warmth I feel upon my arms

Till the summers heat begets us

And rain is few to come

 

I am enlightened by the magic

And wonders that it brings.

Let us all sing of Sunshine

Let us all sing of spring.

11 responses to “Let me enlighten thee of spring

  1. what better song than the song of sunshine? warmth and promise of new lives on the way. The beauty of Spring, so well captured in your words! Lovely!

  2. amazing poem , inspiring. You literally filled in your heart into this. Loved it.

  3. A beautifully written poem full of light, just wonderful….

  4. “Let me dwell on dew of roses”

    Girl, you captured the heart of a gardener. You must be ahead of our growing season. Daffodils are still blooming here…

    • Patricia, Thank you for reading. I am in Texas..piece was written for the picture..I wish I had, but do not have a lovely garden blooming this year.. Been going to school full time. No time for gardening, writing and School.

  5. lovely song about a relationship? nice.. tq for coming by jennirey..

  6. I like it 🙂 It does feel strongly of the nature and the vibrance within – shouting out of Spring.
    Let us sit back to enjoy summer!

Leave a Reply

