Re-lining the “Greats” — Exercise 1 Page 108


Nothing Gold Can Stay by Robert Frost

(Original)

Nature’s first green is gold,
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf.
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down today.
Nothing gold can stay.

(With new line breaks)

Nature’s first

Green is gold,
Her hardest hue

To hold her

Early leaf’s a flower;

But

Only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides

To leaf.

So Eden sank

to grief,

So dawn goes

Down today.
Nothing

gold Can stay.

(Original)

Loveliest of Trees by Alfred Edward Housman

Loveliest of trees, the cherry now
Is hung with bloom along the bough,
And stands about the woodland ride
Wearing white for Eastertide.

Now of my threescore years and ten,
Twenty will not come again,
And take from seventy springs a score,
It only leaves me fifty more.

And since to look at things in bloom
Fifty springs are little room,
About the woodlands I will go
To see the cherry hung with snow.

(With new line breaks)

Loveliest of trees

The Cherry now is hung

With bloom along the bough and stands about

The woodland ride wearing white

For Eastertide now

Of my threescore years

And ten, twenty will not come again

And take from seventy springs

A score it only leaves me fifty

More and since to look at things

In bloom fifty springs are little

Room about the woodlands

I will go to see the Cherry

Hung with snow

2 responses to “Re-lining the “Greats” — Exercise 1 Page 108

  1. I think these are very good, Jennifer. I hope you have a great day.

  2. Maybe you will want to put a twitter button to your website. I just bookmarked this site, although I had to make this manually. Simply my 2 cents.

Leave a Reply

