My Favorite Author..– John Steinbeck


So there it is..The Man  who inspires  me.. John Steinbeck..I love his ability to make me see and feel my surroundings in his works.  While researching him this evening I found a new word.   John Steinbeck wrote proletarian-themed novels.. I needed to know the word Proletarian meant.

“1.
pertaining or belonging to the proletariat.
2.
(in ancient Rome) belonging to the lowest or poorest class of the people.”

His novel “East of Eden” is my absolute favorite.. I tried many times to read “Grapes of Wrath” over and over I read this and it took many times for me to finish it.  It was as dry to me as the subject.. but the novels from Steinbeck that I love are the ones where he paints the hills and agricultural areas of California.
While reading some from East of Eden.. I found a quote with another word that I needed to know the meaning of..
“Avarice
–noun 

insatiable greed for riches; inordinate, miserly desire to gain and hoard wealth.”
This was  the “evil” side of the fight in the book, as it pitted against “Good” in East of Eden..
Leave a Reply

